What Are Animal Chakras?

by Lynn McKenzie


The chakra system holds the key to so many imbalances in our animal companions, whether they are of a physical, emotional or spiritual nature. By unlocking these imbalances, we not only enable them to live in greater comfort and joy, but we can unravel their untold stories, sometimes even more effectively than through animal communication.

Very simply put, chakras are energy vortices or portals located in various locations throughout the body, and are vehicles for receiving, assimilating and expressing life force energy. The word 'chakra' is a Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel', and chakras are often referred to as 'wheels of light'. Humans and animals alike have chakras.

To learn about chakras, I feel it is important to first have a general understanding of the entire energy field. Very much like us, our animal companion's energy field is comprised of layers of subtle (energy) bodies (or the aura as it is commonly called), chakras, and meridians. The subtle bodies are layers of energy surrounding your animal companion's body, similar to that of a Russian nested doll, with the physical body being the innermost layer. The meridians are like 'veins' through which energy, not blood, is transported.

Any vortex of activity within the energy field can be called a chakra, but it is the 8 major chakras, that correlate with various states of consciousness, that we are discussing here. You maybe saying wait, there are only 7 major chakras, and you're correct if you're talking about humans, animals however have an 8th major chakra, the sensing chakra. The sensing chakra governs the sensory intake and transmission of sensory information to the brain. This explains their often uncanny sensing abilities. I've never met a human who can see, hear, or have the awareness of dogs, cats and horses, and during consultations, I've so often had animals let me know of spirits or energies they are sensing that their humans may not be aware of.

Chakras can be sensed or seen (by some) as spinning wheels of energy that resemble cones with both a front and back side. They can vary in brightness, depth, and size depending upon the health and vitality of an animal. Each chakra governs different glands and organs in the physical body, and also controls specific emotional, mental and spiritual aspects of consciousness. I sometimes like to think of them as etheric organs.

Chakra colors and location

Root - red - base of tail

Sexual Progression (sacral) - orange - lower abdomen to navel

Solar Plexus - yellow - back, mid spine

Heart - green - Center of the heart

Throat - sky blue - Throat area

Sensing - silver blue - Bridge of the nose between nose tip and eyes

Brow - indigo - Center of the forehead above the eyes

Crown - purple - Top of the head

The glands and organs that each chakra governs are generally those that are physically near the chakra. It get's a bit different when we get into things like bones, blood and skin which are throughout the body but this requires further study.

The chakra system can be described as a 'map of consciousnesses' for an individual animal and so much can be gleaned from it. It is important to note that all life force energy is filtered into an animal's energetic body through these portals and is eventually funneled, via the meridians, into the endocrine system (which consists of various glands) and this is how it ends up impacting them on a physical level. The degree to which their chakras are healthy and balanced plays a large part in how this life force energy reaches them.

© 2009 Lynn McKenzie. All Rights Reserved.

Want to use this article?

You're welcome to, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:
Intuitive Consultant & Life Coach helping Animals and their People, Lynn McKenzie is passionate about helping others attune and awaken to the teachings and wonder that all sentient beings wish to share. To learn more about her work and sign up for her FREE Making the Heart Connection audio course, please visit http://www.animalenergy.com."